WIAW–And A Blueberry Cocoa Smoothie Recipe


I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving; mine was nice, though I hardly took any pictures of all the delicious food…Oh well, at least I got a few pictures of the delicious cake I made for dessert! My Nutcracker performance went OK; I don’t think I danced very well, but at least I enjoyed myself and had a wonderful time performing:) I only have a couple more weeks of college classes left, so I will be doing a LOT of studying for finals this week–always fun! Here are a few pictures of some Thanksgiving “eats,” as well as a new smoothie recipe. Thanks as always to Jenn for hosting.

Peas and Crayons

First, the stuffed squashes that I made, based on a Vegnews recipe. They were tasty, though I think they could have used a bit more seasoning–I probably should have added some extra spices.

Now for some pictures of the “crowning glory,” AKA the vegan Black Forest Cake:) Even my non-vegan/vegetarian younger brother and parents loved it, so I considered it a success! First, here is a picture of the frosting.

And some pictures of the double-layer cake itself.

It was rich, creamy, sugary, chocolate-y, and delicious–I highly recommend the recipe! I used melted coconut oil for the oil, which gave it a nice moistness and richness. And for the frosting (recipe not pictured), I used Earth Balance butter sticks, vegan chocolate chips, and organic powdered sugar. I definitely had several “sample tastes” of the frosting while making it–it was incredibly decadent and delicious:)

Finally, here is a new smoothie recipe I created…

Blueberry Cocoa Smoothie

One cup of vanilla soymilk

One-third a cup of frozen blueberries

One frozen banana, chopped into small chunks

2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in a blender…

And blend until smooth and creamy.

This was probably one of my favorite smoothie combinations yet; you could even add a couple handfuls of spinach to make it even more nutritious–then you would have the antioxidants of the cocoa powder, cinnamon, blueberries, and the spinach:)

I hope you all have a fantastic day! Oh, and I ordered the cookbook Let Them Eat Vegan recently; let me know if there are any “must-try” recipes in there! Also, I will be trying out this recipe today to use up my mint extract–it looks like a delicious one:)

29 thoughts on “WIAW–And A Blueberry Cocoa Smoothie Recipe

    • I had multiple roles in the Nutcracker, as most of the dancers in my studio did. I was a party girl, Snow demi-soloist, Spanish corps, Chinese, Reed Flutes, Italian, and Waltz:) Yes, the cake was quite delicious; I was glad that it turned out well!

  1. Pingback: MIMM–One Year of Blogging | veggiedancer

Leave a Reply

