Sending Out a Prayer


When I heard the news about the bombing, I was both shocked and saddened. I got back from ballet class and went on YouTube to see video clips of the event. Tears came to my eyes as I watched the pain, sadness, and horror in the witnesses’ eyes, and a dark cloud of sadness cast its way across my mind. I felt so helpless, sitting in my room, unable to do a single thing to help the people who were suffering so terribly. So I did the only thing I could think of–I prayed. I prayed for the people who lost their lives in the bombing. I prayed for those who were injured. I prayed for the family members of those victims. I prayed for all the people–not only in the U.S., but in other countries–who have been affected by such violent and bloody acts of terror. I even prayed for the people who were responsible for such acts–because quite often, their minds have been twisted and warped by forces outside their complete control, until they have been brainwashed into believing that killing people is the only way to solve their problems. Of course, I know this event will spawn discussions about terrorism, heightened security, foreign policy, regulation of bomb-building materials, and a million other things. But the real issue is far deeper than that. The real issue lies within the souls and minds of people who are so filled with hatred and spite that they no longer have a sense of compassion for all people. Perhaps they are mentally unstable. Perhaps they have been brainwashed into believing that certain people are unworthy of living. All I know is that it will take much more than a piece of legislation or increased restrictions on the purchase of dangerous materials to solve this problem. But we can try. We can try each day to be kind toward everyone we meet. We can try to conquer the feelings of prejudice and hatred that build up inside us at certain times. We can try to take this post-disaster feeling of comradeship and compassion, and apply it to the remainder of our lives. We can try, as cliche as it sounds, to make this world a better place, one small act of kindness at a time.

“O God! We are weak, give us strength. We are poor; bestow upon us Thine illimitable treasures. We are sick; grant us Thy divine healing. We are powerless; give us of Thy heavenly power. O Lord! Make us useful in this world; free us from the condition of self and desire. O Lord! Make us firm in Thy love and cause us to be loving toward the whole of mankind. Confirm us in service to the world of humanity, so that we may become the servants of Thy servants, that we may love all Thy creatures and become compassionate to all Thy people. O Lord! Thou art the Almighty! Thou art the Merciful! Thou art the Forgiver! Thou art the Omnipotent.”

Abdu’l Baha. 

Leave a Reply

