WIAW–Sweet Potato Cinnamon Smoothie


This will just be a quick WIAW post so that I can share a smoothie recipe I created yesterday, as well as a few other “sensible snacking” type foods. Thanks as always to Jenn for hosting WIAW!

Peas and Crayons

First, the smoothie recipe…

Sweet Potato Cinnamon Smoothie

Half a cup to 1 cup of almond milk (depending on how thick you like your smoothie)

About half a cup of mashed sweet potato (I used one small sweet potato)

One frozen banana, chopped

One teaspoon of cinnamon

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

Simply combine all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth, adding more liquid if needed. It was sweet, creamy, cinnamon-y-, and absolutely delicious–sort of like sweet potato pie filling in a cup. Well, probably less sweet, of course. Here are a couple pictures of the smoothie…

IMG_20130618_082350

 

IMG_20130618_082401

 

Would the brownies I mentioned in this post count as a sensible snack? Sure, why not! After all, the frosting contains dates, so that makes it at least slightly healthier…

IMG_20130615_203249

 

I have also been enjoying some of my Vanilla Cinnamon Almond Butter…

IMG_20130615_204728

 

Some delicious popcorn (not this brand, actually, but it was very similar…

IMG_20130122_105708

 

 

Some of this juice from Whole Foods…

IMG_20130426_075440

 

 

Some delicious homemade salsa with not-homemade chips…

IMG_20121120_133937

 

And several other un-pictured culinary delights. Well, I have to go and tackle some homework for my two online college courses, and will be heading off to ballet soon as well. Being at the studio for several hours each day, Monday through Friday, leaves less time to blog–but there is no place I would rather be than dancing there. I hope you all enjoy your Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “WIAW–Sweet Potato Cinnamon Smoothie

  1. Your food looks so good, as usual! I really want to try making my own almond butter since it’s a lot cheaper than buying it at the store, and I can put in whatever I want. I might end up trying your vanilla cinnamon almond butter because it sounds like a delicious flavor combo.

    • Thank you! I usually don’t make my own almond butter, though it might be a good idea to do that more frequently. But I can never get it to be as smooth as the store-bought brands!

Leave a Reply

