A “Getting to Know You” Survey


I’ve been blogging for about a year and a half now, but there are probably still things about me that you don’t know, so I decided to create a survey to share some random facts and stories about myself. Perhaps I’ve mentioned some of them on my blog before, and perhaps not. Either way, I thought it might help add a bit more personality to my blog. So here goes! I am also joining Amanda’s Thinking Out Loud link-up, since this post is sufficiently random.

Thinking-Out-Loud

What is the origin/meaning of your name? I’ve only personally known one other Kendra in the entire 20 years of my life, which is a bit odd, considering that it isn’t exactly a super unique name. When researching the history of my name, I came across multiple answers, so I am not sure which one is most accurate. One website said the origin is Welsh, and derives from the word “Cynrig,” which means “greatest champion.” No pressure to live up to that name, right?? Another website said the origin is English, and that it is the feminine version of the name “Kendrick,” which means “fearless leader.” Yikes, I guess my name is sort of intimidating. Yet another website simply said that the “origins are disputed,” which makes sense to me. Some other meanings of my name included “prophetess,” “knowledge,” “high hill,” and “wisdom.” I certainly don’t feel like a prophetess or wise leader, so I’m not sure my name really suits me.

photo 3 (3)

What sign of the zodiac/Chinese zodiac are you? I am Scorpio in the regular zodiac and the Rooster in the Chinese zodiac. So I get a poisonous arthropod and an male chicken–fantastic. Even though I don’t believe in the predictive powers of zodiac signs, I thought it would be interesting to look up the description of both my signs. Apparently, Scorpios are “intense,” “dramatic,” “passionate,” and “powerful,” which don’t exactly describe me very well. It also says they can be “wise beyond their years,” which I don’t think I am. However, I suppose I do tend to “wear a mask” sometimes, as it says Scorpios do. As for the Rooster, they tend to be “emotional,” “hardworking,” “proud,” and “perfectionists.” Well, I can definitely relate to being a perfectionist!

(image source: https://ramblesofacollegedancer.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/bcefc-scorpio.gif)

(image source: http://www.wishafriend.com/astrology/chinesezodiacprofile/images/rooster.gif)

What are some of your greatest fears? This is a deep question, I know. One of my greatest fears is harming (either mentally or physically) the people and animals around me–regardless of whether or not I know them very well. If I lash out at someone when I am frustrated or angry, I feel extremely guilty afterward and worry that I might have caused irreversible damage. I hate it when I unintentionally make other people stressed out or irritable, and I always fear that saying or doing the wrong thing might harm someone in a deadly way. I always try my best to be compassionate and kind toward those around me, but I still harbor an intense fear of causing them unhappiness or stress. As for more trivial fears, I also tend to be frightened (if that is the right word) of being late to anything–dance, school, you name it. Many of my more unpleasant dreams have involved me being late to ballet class or a performance. I am also somewhat wary of tornadoes, though not terrified of them, and I’ve had more tornado-themed dreams than I can list.

What are some of your quirky habits/tendencies/rituals? One thing I tend to do quite frequently is say “you know?” at the end of a sentence when I am talking to people–it probably drives them crazy, but I can’t seem to stop saying it, you know? Another habit of mine is that I cannot stand using abbreviations or incorrect spelling/grammar when I am texting (Why is WordPress telling me that “texting” is not a word?) people–I am the person who uses proper capitalization and never types “LOL” or “BRB.” I even use semicolons, for goodness sake. Who does that?? Another weird habit of mine is that I always fall asleep laying on my left side, never my right side. It just feels, I don’t know, better…? Also, speaking of left, I always prefer turning to the left when pulling into a parking spot or into my driveway–turning to the right just feels awkward. And no, I am not left-handed.

When did you get your first cell phone, and which type do you have know? I know this is a totally random question, but I thought it would be an interesting one to include. I didn’t get my first cell phone until I was 17, about three years ago. I never really had the need for one before that, especially since I was homeschooled and rarely went out with friends. I now have an iPhone 4S, which I got last summer, since my phone was eligible for a free upgrade. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t have bothered spending the money on it. I still don’t have or play any games on my phone, since it seems like a waste of time…I think the thing I like best about my new phone is the Pandora app that I downloaded–I listen to Pandora almost every day, usually when I am studying.

(image source: http://www.winningmark.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/pandora_drop22.png)

How many pets have you had in your lifespan thus far? Well, we’ve had many: at least six dogs, four cats, several chickens, a cockatiel, parakeets, lizards, two guinea pigs, four rats, many rabbits, a few fish, a ferret, a horse that we leased, and probably others that I am forgetting. Now, however, we have scaled down to only two dogs. I think it was easier to have several pets when we were all homeschooled and at home for the majority of the day. We’ve had some rather bizarre and unfortunate experiences with our pets so far: all of our cats mysteriously disappeared at different points in time, three of our dogs were hit by cars and died, our current dog Maya occasionally spazzes out and runs in speedy circles around the house just for the heck of it, and we theorize that our parakeet Buddy might have been the culprit in the random deaths of his two cage mates. A murderous parakeet? Unlikely, perhaps, but still possible. However, despite (or perhaps because of) their quirky personalities, I have adored all of our pets (except perhaps the violent roosters who liked to attack us), and they’ve been a very important part of my life.

photo 2 (11)

What sections of the paper do you prefer reading? I usually read the front page of The Chicago Tribune, since it contains most of the latest news and also sometimes has other interesting articles–for example, on Sunday there was a story about a woman whose spine was damaged by a stray bullet and who became a paraplegic. However, she had been a painter before the accident, and she learned to paint with a paintbrush in her mouth after the accident. The paintings they showed in the article were amazing–I could never paint that well with my hands, let alone with my mouth!! I never read the sports section, since I never watch sports; the business section usually bores me; the dining section rarely focuses on vegan food; and the arts/entertainment section, though it sometimes has interesting articles, doesn’t usually intrigue me. I also sometimes amuse myself by reading the advice columns–the questions that people pose to an anonymous “advice giver” never fail to amaze me. Though some of them are practical questions, others are rather absurd, particularly the relationship ones…And I do enjoy reading the comics as well; those will never get boring.

photo 2 (4)

What is one of the strangest items you possess? This might sound a tad disgusting, but I still have two of my teeth that I got pulled before I had my braces put on, when I was about 12 or 13. The dentist had given them to me in a nice blue case, so of course I had to keep them for the fond memories! Would you like to see a picture of them? Yes? Excellent.

photo 1 (4)

 

What is your favorite board/card game to play? Though I have many favorites, such as Taboo, Apples to Apples, Faces, Set, and a few others, one of my top favorites is Scrabble. Since I love learning new words and expanding my vocabulary as much as possible, Scrabble is the perfect opportunity to hone my skills. Plus, it is simply a great deal of fun to play with my parents and siblings.

photo (38)

 

That’s all for now, and I hope you have a great day!

11 thoughts on “A “Getting to Know You” Survey

  1. Very cool meanings of your name! Mine just means white wave or fair one depending on the root. Although it’s no fun to be afraid of anything I think those are very logical, constructive fears that can help you in life. As long as they don’t become so great it takes over your life 🙂 I also prefer pulling in left! I get so anxious about pulling in right…I had no idea you were homeschooled, so was I! Those are a lot of pets! What type of horse did you lease? Wow, it’s kinda scary how much I’ve related to you so far but this is just strange, I kept 2 teeth I got pulled at the age so I could get braces on as well…So weird! Have a great rest of your week 🙂

    • It was definitely interesting to research the different meanings of my name! I think having a name that means “white wave” or “fair one” would be awesome 🙂 I agree that logical fears certainly can help you in life, as long as they aren’t debilitating or overwhelming. Yes, I was homeschooled my entire life until college, and it was fantastic! I didn’t know you were homeschooled either–we truly do have a lot in common! I don’t remember what type of horse we leased, though I do remember his name was Roger. He was big and a brownish-reddish color, and that’s about all I know. I actually had to get four teeth pulled, but I only kept two of them. It’s crazy how well-preserved they stay 😉 I hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  2. I always love learning more about the bloggers behind the blogs I read, especially when I come across things that we have in common. I didn’t get my first cell phone until I was 17 too, which is why I can’t handle seeing teeny tiny kids running around with them these days — the world is definitely changing. And, weird or not, I still have 4 of my teeth that the dentist had to pull out as well :mrgreen:

    • I love getting to know more about bloggers as well, which is why I enjoy reading such surveys as this one. I know–it’s crazy how many young kids have cell phones, iPads, iPods, etc…, though maybe I just think it’s strange because I didn’t grow up using such electronics on a regular basis. Haha, I am glad I’m not the only person who kept their old teeth 😉

  3. I have the same driving quirk–it just doesn’t feel right to me to pull in from the right, even though I’m right-handed. I used to never pull into spaces that I had to back out of because I was scared I’d hit someone backing up but now I’ve gotten better about that so I’m not as limited to which spaces I can park in!

    I got my first cell phone at 13 but it was one of those basic bar-style phones that you could only text and call from. I thought it was the coolest thing ever at the time, but now it bugs me that little kids get smart phones better than the one I have. It’s weird that kids are so tech-savvy nowadays instead of just playing outside!

    • Maybe the driving quirk just stems from the fact that we sit on the left side of the car, and therefore feel more comfortable turning to the left. I will have to ask other people and see if they feel the same way! I do think it’s crazy that young kids have smart phones when they probably don’t NEED them, but maybe that’s just my opinion. After all, I did spend much of my childhood playing outside, performing plays, taking care of our many pets, and reading tons of books 🙂 Still, I know that not all kids are tech-obsessed, and many of them still do enjoy simpler activities.

  4. Didn’t know you had a cockatiel!! What was his/her name??! 😀 (Sorry; brain saw “cockatiel” and kind of short-circuited for the rest of the post.) And that’s a heckuva lot of dogs! We’ve got four now (parents are vets, yay) and that is a LOT of paws…

    I feel like those characteristics for Scorpio describe ME really well, but I’m Sagittarius. This is why I don’t put much stock into those things :), but horoscopes can be fun sometimes if you need a little bit of guidance. Sort of like a roll-the-dice type of thing on how you want your day to turn out.

    • The cockatiel belonged to my older sister, and her name was Princess–well, I think “she” might have been a boy, actually, according to one of our friends, but whatever 😉 We never had six dogs at once; the most we had at one time was two, which was probably a good thing. I don’t know if my parents could have handled five kids AND six dogs…Yeah, I don’t actually believe the horoscopes either, especially not the ones in the newspaper. They mostly just generate random predictions that could probably apply to most people, regardless of who you are and what sign you are. Still, they can be a fun source of entertainment!

  5. That’s interesting to hear about the origin of your name! I’ve only ever really known one Kendra, and she was my friend in Elementary school; she taught me how to do the macarana in the school lunch line. Haha.

    I get annoyed with some of my word/texting tendencies too. While I do use “lol” or “haha” I really can’t stand most abbreviations… I don’t really know how else to show that I thought a text was funny unless I said “funny.” 😉 But it gets to be too much when every single word someone types is brb, idk, yolo, etc. You don’t have to have a period, but please, let’s show for a second that we actually passed fourth grade. Thanks. Oh, and I tend to fall into the habit of using the same descriptive words over and over. Awful, awesome, wonderful, goodness, ridiculous. It isn’t that I don’t know more complex words, it’s just that I am not yet in an environment where those words are the norm.

    My favorite phone app is Kindle! I love getting free books from Amazon.com and reading them on my phone. Actually, I just bought a whole bunch of cheap books the other day and have already made it through a few. Haha. I’m not much of one to listen to music, but during the holidays Pandora is always great for Christmas tunes.

    I’ve always wanted to raise chickens. That would be very interesting. We just have dogs and cats. When I was younger we also had fish, but I’m not sure those count because they never lasted very long 😦

    I still have my wisdom teeth somewhere I think, so not strange at all.

    Board games… It has been awhile since I’ve had time to play one! Apples to Apples is a good choice. My favorite is Clue whereas my brother’s is Monopoly. We like our games LONG 😉

    • It’s strange how I haven’t met more people named Kendra, considering that it is a medium-popular name. I honestly don’t mind it when other people use abbreviations such as “lol” or “idk,” but I can’t make myself use them for some reason–perhaps because I would rather write text messages with lengthy and descriptive words 😉 Though we have a Kindle, I never use it, since I would much rather read “real” books than reading them on a screen. It just feels better to me for some reason…I understand that Kindles can be very useful for people who travel and don’t want to lug around heavy books, but I don’t think I’ll ever use one very often. Raising chickens was fun, though like I mentioned, some of the roosters were rather violent and ended up being executed. That was before I became a vegetarian and would have protested over this murder, of course. I think it’s cool that you still have your wisdom teeth–I should have asked my oral surgeon if I could keep mine, but I was too woozy after the surgery to even think about that 😉 I hope you have a great day!

  6. Pingback: 2014 Recap | rambles of a college dancer

Leave a Reply

