Recipe Redux–Pumpkin, Peanut Butter, and Cinnamon Smoothie


Before I launch into the rest of this short post, I thought I’d share some exciting news: I was accepted into the Cornish College of the Arts as a transfer student!! I had auditioned for their dance department via a video recording, and though I didn’t think I danced very well on the tape, I guess it wasn’t TOO dreadful. I was notified by email last night, and I was definitely pleased by the good news. Though I am still waiting on decisions from both Reed College and Goucher College, it is nice to have another option. Plus, since CCA is located in Seattle, I would be close to most of my relatives who live in Washington and Oregon. Since I have already been accepted into the University of Oregon and its Honors College as well, both of my options so far are located on the west coast, which is where I want to eventually end up living ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, moving on…The theme for this month’s Recipe Redux was “Beverages Are Hot,” and by “hot” it means the trendy sort of “hot,” not the literal sort of “hot.” So I decided to create a new smoothie recipe, one that would probably be a better fit for October or November, since it is a pumpkin-themed one. Anyway, here is the recipe!

Pumpkin, Peanut Butter, and Cinnamon Smoothie

1 cup of vanilla almond milk (either sweetened or unsweetened)

Half a cup of pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon of peanut butter

1 ripe banana, frozen and chopped into small pieces

Half a teaspoon of cinnamon

Simply combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy. You could always use almond butter instead of peanut butter, omit the cinnamon, use another type of milk, etc…The possibilities are nearly endless. The resulting smoothie has a creamy and almost pillow-y texture, with a nice pumpkin flavor and more subtle hints of cinnamon and peanut butter. It is not extremely sweet, since I used unsweetened almond milk, but if you prefer your smoothies to be sweeter, you could always add a spoonful of maple syrup, sugar, agave nectar, or some other sweetener.

photo (46)

That’s all for today, and I’ll be back tomorrow with another post! Enjoy your weekend! Oh, and here is the link where you can view the other Recipe Redux submissions.

7 thoughts on “Recipe Redux–Pumpkin, Peanut Butter, and Cinnamon Smoothie

  1. Pingback: 2014 Recap | rambles of a college dancer

Leave a Reply

