iHerb Purchases, New Books to Read, An Intense Storm, and Other Thoughts


So this is just going to be one of my random, helter-skelter, all-over-the-place, no-rhyme-or-reason posts in which I discuss everything under the sun. Hmmmm…I just used three different cliches in that last sentence. Never a good sign. I’ve got to think up more creative ways in which to express myself. Anyway, I felt a compulsive urge to share a hodgepodge of different thoughts and updates with you all, so bear with me…

I recently purchased some things from iHerb, including the following items: a box of gluten-free brown rice pasta, some Lundberg Farms Pico de Gallo Rice Chips, and some Mary’s Gone Crackers Black Pepper Crackers. I haven’t yet used the pasta, but I can vouch for the fact that both of the crackers/chips are quite delicious–after all, I did finish them both within a few days.

photo 1 (14)

I went to the library earlier this week and got some new books to read as well–always exciting. I didn’t intend to get so carried away, but that’s what usually happens when I go to the library. I see all these new and interesting books, think Wow, I just must read them all!!, and end up with a pile of literary material that I may not finish anytime soon. Not that they are uninteresting; I just hope I can finish them all before my three-time renewal limit runs out. I am particularly looking forward to reading Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking. I am not trying to criticize extroverts, of course, since I actually envy them on a regular basis, but it should be a book that I can relate to in more than one way. I have already begun reading Cannary Row by John Steinbeck, and while it is not quite as captivating as East of Eden, perhaps it will become more interesting later on in the story.

photo 2 (13)

A couple of nights ago, I was woken up at approximately 12:45 AM by a terribly intense thunderstorm that was raging outside. My brother’s high school graduation ceremony had to be postponed by said storm several hours earlier, though it became far more violent as the night went on. Since I am a light sleeper, I was probably the only person shaken out of my peaceful slumber–which was a bit inconvenient, seeing as I had fallen asleep just an hour before then. To me, storms always seem more threatening and dangerous in the middle of the night, though perhaps I was just feeling a bit disoriented at that particular time due to the strange dream I’d been lost in. Either way, my mind began to race as I imagined all the possible events that could happen: What if a tornado springs up and crushes our house? What if a tree falls on my bedroom? What if a flash flood occurs? Of course, all my doom-and-gloom thoughts were for naught, since the storm passed quickly and I woke up safe and sound. No tree in the living room, no water in the kitchen, no life-threatening injuries. Speaking of storms, I just thought this picture was intense and fascinating–it by no means portrays the storm I just mentioned. Apparently, it is a volcanic thunderstorm in Chile, which sounds quite interesting.

(image source: http://www.ohgizmo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/chilevolcano.jpg)

I was creating a password for my University of Oregon account yesterday and was suddenly faced with these instructions: “password must be between 8 and 127 characters.” Who uses 127 characters for a password?? I mean, I am all for creating unique and memorable passwords, but I think I’d run out of ideas by around 20 or so characters. Unless you are one of those lucky people who can memorize hundreds of digits, then I think this option is out. However, an 127-character password would certainly be very secure. Also, speaking of passwords, you know how we are told to create a different password for every.single.account we create? Well, I don’t. Not always, anyway. More specifically, I usually use a slightly different variation of two or three stock passwords, since I eventually got tired of creating an entirely unique one each time. And that’s probably the most rebellious and risky thing I’ve ever done in my entire life. Yay. Unless you count eating expired food…I am not sure where that falls on the “I live on the edge” spectrum. Probably near the bottom, right?

(image source: http://www.puravidamultimedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/funny-password-meme-2.jpg)

I have a strange hatred of having the air conditioning turned on during ballet class. Whenever someone suggests turning on the air conditioning, I indigently protest the mere idea. Which is to say I quietly and mildly suggest we NOT turn it on since sweating is a natural body process designed to prevent ourselves from overheating. Hey, I am not exactly the most aggressive person when it comes to stating my opinions. It’s not that I get cold easily or don’t sweat very much–on the contrary, I sweat buckets during ballet class (maybe a slight exaggeration) and get rosy red cheeks very quickly. However, I actually enjoy the feeling of sweat covering my face, neck, and back, and feel as though the icy blast of the air conditioning causes my muscles to tighten up. I don’t mind feeling sweaty and flushed, so long as I am drinking plenty of water. And I definitely DO chug down a great deal of water after ballet class, which possibly explains why I almost always have to get up at least once in the middle of the night to use the bathroom…

It seems my well of random thoughts has run dry for today, so I shall end it here. I hope you all enjoy your Thursday!

 

8 thoughts on “iHerb Purchases, New Books to Read, An Intense Storm, and Other Thoughts

  1. I love your book selection! I do the same thing when I visit the library. Luckily I stopped myself at three last week and have gotten through one and a half of them. I’m going back today though so this could be a recipe for disaster. Do you read Jodi Picoult?

    • I am glad you approve of my book choices 😉 The only Jodi Picoult book I’ve read is “My Sister’s Keeper,” which was certainly a touching and engaging story. Do you recommend her other books?

      • ALL OF THEM ARE AMAZING! I would start with Nineteen Minutes (my fav!) and then just read them all! They are FABULOUS!

  2. Your random, hodgepodge posts are my favorite 🙂

    Yay for introverts! I have been wanting to read that book for awhile now. I’m definitely an introvert and after years and years of wishing I was extroverted, I’m just now beginning to appreciate the unique and valuable qualities introverts have. You will have to let me know how that book is! And also, “Wild”…I was just looking at that book yesterday at Costco (random place to look for books, I know).

    I hope you don’t mind me asking this, but do you eat completely gluten free, and if so, is it by choice, or do you have an allergy/intolerance? I ask because I’ve been GF for the past year (for some digestive problems and an autoimmune thyroid condition I have). I tested negative for celiac and I’m not sure if it has helped my digestion as I still have issues, but it has helped my thyroid. Just wondering what your reasons for eating GF are and if you’ve noticed any positive changes.

    Hope you’re well, Kendra 🙂

    • Hi Carli,
      I am glad you enjoy my scatterbrained posts! I have enjoyed reading Quiet so far–I am almost finished with the book–, and it has definitely brought up some interesting points that I haven’t heard of before. For example, it referred to one study indicating that babies who were highly reactive to stimuli such as loud noises and moving toys were more likely to become introverts as they grew older. Though I know this study doesn’t prove that ALL highly reactive babies will become introverts, it was thought-provoking nevertheless. I know that I tended to be rather fussy and anxious as a baby, so perhaps introversion does have at least some biological basis. I am about halfway through Wild as well, and I definitely recommend reading it. Cheryl Strayed is a fantastic writer and does a great job of capturing her adventures on the Pacific Crest Trail.

      I actually don’t eat completely gluten-free, though I have found that eating too much gluten often gives me stomach cramps, diarrhea, bloating, and other digestive issues. I was tested for Celiac disease maybe four or five years ago, but the test was negative. Still, I have consistently found that I can digest gluten-free breads, pasta, crackers, etc…better than their wheat-based relatives. That being said, I still eat some wheat-based products maybe a few times a week, and as long as I don’t overdo it, I usually feel fine. I have read some articles indicating that the way in which we grow and process the wheat in this era (genetically modifying it, for example) has made it more difficult for many people to digest wheat-based food products, but I am not sure if that is a well-studied theory yet.

      I hope you are doing well also, and it was nice to hear from you again 🙂

      • That study does sound interesting! As a baby, I was always very reactive to my surroundings as well. I definitely want to get that book now! I’ll have to see if my library has it.

        Thanks for answering my question. That’s great you’ve found a way of eating that works best for you and that cutting back on gluten has helped your digestion. I have never heard about the genetically modification of wheat making it more difficult for people to digest it, but it makes sense! And I think it could also help explain why so many more people are being diagnosed with celiac and gluten sensitivity these days.

  3. I just had to chime in and let you know how my eyes brightened at your admitting to “a variation of two or three stock passwords”…its the -only- way I roll. Perhaps due to the fact that I’d prefer to avoid past instances of having to recover a “lost” password..

    I actually despise the aircon! I find it has a tendency to transform the room into a moisture-sucking vacuum, leaving my skin parched. Does it have the same effect while moving in ballet? Given the incredible chill in the air in my lands; I should be fined for simply discussing the word “aircon” 😉 .

    • Haha, I know what you mean about having to recover those “lost passwords!” It is not exactly an enjoyable process…Yes, the AC does tend to dry out the air in the dance studio, meaning that I get not only chilled and stiff but also feel as though I’ve gone from a moist rain forest to an arid desert.

Leave a Reply

